Five Principles of Reiki

Reiki is more than just a therapy for healing the mind and body. It is also a practise of high spiritual content. Ultimately, Reiki has the power to bring harmony and balance between the trinity of Mind-Body-Spirit. Reiki simple and yet powerful method offers the way to start taking what I call “the journey home”.

Dr Mikao Usui rediscovered the powerful healing technique of healing with universal energy. He laid down five principles of Reiki. These principles are the result of Dr Usui’s observations of human nature. He offered these five principles of Reiki as guidelines to achieve healing at all levels. Dr Usui’s principles aim to empower the person in taking responsibility for our own lives.

Dr Usui’s Five Principles of Reiki

Dr Usui five principles of reiki

Kyo dake wa
Shinpai suna
Kansha shite
Goo hage me
Hito ni shinsetsu ni

You may find different variations of these five principles of Reiki. This is because Japanese is a very complex language. Translations from this language to others are likely to have variations.

These are the principles that I have been taught:

  1. Just for today, let go of worry
  2. Just for today, let go of anger
  3. Just for today, I will be kind to every living creature
  4. Earn your living honestly
  5. Just for today, be grateful

Another variation is:

  1. Just for today, do not worry
  2. Just for today, do not get angry
  3. Just for today, be kind to others
  4. Just for today, work hard
  5. Just for today, be grateful

All the principles mean the same, they just have been translated differently. As with other aspects of Reiki, you may find some variation in the principles taught by each different Master. But I will like to go to basics and explain them in a very simple way:

  1. Feel confident and in harmony with the Universe. There is a bigger picture that we may not be able to see.
  2. Acceptance brings patience. Open-minded and comprehensive attitude.
  3. Feel that everything is interconnected. Love others and yourself.
  4. Give your best. Attitude of  effort, goodness and excellence.
  5. Be thankful for all you receive, have and live.

When you live according to the five principles of Reiki, your life will be more fulfilled.

Let me know if you have liked this post! And if you would like to receive more information about Reiki, please contact me  or leave a message here. Thank you very much!!


One thought on “Five Principles of Reiki

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s